Discover our beers

Ingredients

The ingredients: 100% local, directly from the producer.

  • Water

Beer is made up of 95% water. The water we use is drawn from the semi-captive groundwater of the Pays d'Ath and the Pays des Collines for the Ellezelles site. It’s pure water, rich in minerals (calcium, magnesium...) and low in nitrates (<5ppm). The quality of water has a significant influence on the taste of the beer.
 

  • Malt

The malt used is brewing barley, germinated and kilned in a maltery. And, unique in Belgium, the barley is planted and harvested in our own farm "Beauregard" located 30 km from the brewery, then malted at the maltery of Beloeil Castle, Belgium. The malt provides the fermentable sugars and non-fermentable substances that give the beer its body and consistency. Malt also provides the colour and the different aromas in the beer. There are several different kinds of malts (eg. roasted, caramel, smoked) that give the beer other colours (amber, brown) and specific aromas (coffee, caramel) in a natural way. No colorants, preservatives or additives are used in the production of our beers.

   

 

  • Hops

Humulus lupulus, hops, is a perennial plant that grows up to 6-7m tall on wires stretched between poles. The brewer uses the hop buds. Hops are responsible for the bitterness in beer and for certain aromas. We use different kinds of aromatic hops, mostly from the region of Poperinge. A portion of our hops also comes from Slovenia, it’s a specific variety that only exists there and gives more flowery, fruity aromas. Hops are in fact like the vine for the brewer, the terrior and the climate have great importance on the flavour of the hops. For preservation, the hops are milled and compressed into pellets.

Hops also help in preserving beer as they have natural anti-bacterial properties.

 

  • Yeast

Beer yeast is a microscopic unicellular fungus called Saccharomyces cerevisiae. During fermentation, the yeast transforms the liquid simple sugars into alcohol, and also into the many compounds that are responsible for the desired aromas in beer. It’s also the yeast that creates the natural carbonation in beer during its bottle conditioning.

Découvrez nos bières

Ingrédients

Les ingrédients: 100% régional, en direct du producteur.

  • Eau:

La bière est constitué de 95% d'eau. L'eau utilisée est puisée dans la nappe phréatique semi-captive du Pays d'Ath et celle du Pays des Collines pour le site d'Ellezelles.  C'est une eau pure riche en minéraux (calcium, magnésium, ...) et très pauvre en nitrates (<5ppm). La qualité de l'eau influence le goût de la bière.
 

  • Malt

Le malt utilisé est l'orge de brasserie germé et séché en malterie. Et unique en Belgique, l'orge est planté et récolté dans notre ferme "Beauregard" situé à 30 km de la brasserie, puis malté à façon à la Malterie au Château (Beloeil, Belgique). Il fourni les sucres fermentescibles et les matières non fermentescibles donnant le corps et la consistance à la bière. Il donne également la couleur ainsi que les différents arômes à la bière. Il existe des matls spéciaux (ex: malts torréfiés, caramélisés, fumés, ...) qui donnent à la bière la couleur (ambrée, brune, ...) et les arômes spécifiques (café, caramel, ...) de manière naturelle. Aucun colorant, conservateur ou adjuvent n'est utilisé dans la fabrication de nos bières.

   
 

  • Houblon

Humulus lupulus, le houblon est une plante vivace qui pousse jusqu’à 6-7m en s’enroulant sur des fils tendus entre des perches. Le brasseur utilise les fleurs de houblon. Le houblon est responsable de l’amertume et de certains arômes de la bière. Nous utilisons différents types de houblon aromatique essentiellement de la région de Poperinge. Une partie du houblon provient aussi de la Slovenie, variété bien spécifique qui n’existe que la-bàs, il procurera des arômes plus fleuris et plus fruités. Le houblon est en fait un peu la vigne du brasseur, le terroir et le climat ont beaucoup d’importance pour la saveur du houblon. Pour des raisons de conservation, il est broyé et compressé en granulé. Le houblon aide également à la conservation de la bière grâce à son action bactéricide naturelle.


 

  • Levure

La levure de bière est un champignon unicellulaire microscopique appelé Saccharomyces cerevisiae. Lors de la fermentation, elle va transformer le jus sucré en alcool, mais aussi des dizaines de composés qui vont être responsables d’arômes agréables dans la bière. C'est elle qui donnera également le pétillant de manière naturelle à la bière lors de la refermentation bouteille.