Beauregard Farm

This family-run farm going back 5 generations is located in Arc-Wattripont in the heart of Belgium’s ‘Land of the Hills’. Since 2005 we’ve been planting the malting barley needed to produce our beers. We cultivate our barley with intimate knowledge of, and respect for, our lands.

Winter barley is sown at the end of September and spring barley is planted in March. Harvesting happens in July and August respectively. The grain is then transported to the maltery at the Beloeil Castle, Belgium, where the barley is germinated and dried to become malt, according to our specifications. In this way, Brasserie des Légendes controls the entire production chain, with malt representing the most significant raw material, in quantity, for the production of beer. From the ground to the glass…. UNIQUE IN BELGIUM.

The coming together of our “terroir” and our brewing know-how gives rise to beers of typical character. In January 2012, Pierre Delcoigne took over daily management of the farm after his parents’ retirement.

  • The farming of barley

We sow winter barley at the end of September and harvesting happens at the beginning of July. We plant a total surface area of 17 hectares, which allows us to harvest about 130 tonnes of barley to be malted at the Castle Beloeil maltery. This barley malt will then be used as the main raw material in the production of our beers.

 

  • MALTING

Malting is the process of transforming barley grain so that the starches present inside the grain get transformed into fermentable sugars.

Soaking

First of all the grain has to be soaked. This stage is done either by soaking the grain in water tanks or by spraying water over the grains.

Germination

Once the grain has been fully soaked, germination can start to take place. Germination releases heat so temperature control is important here.

Kilning

To halt germination the malt has to be dried, which is the kilning stage. The malter uses different drying temperatures to produce different types of malt (pale malt, caramel, chocolate, roasted)

 

  • Other farming

 

Wheat

Sowing: end October/beginning November
Harvest: beginning of August
17 hectares

Beets

Sowing: May
Harvest: October/November
4 hectares

Beans/legumes

Sowing: May
Harvest: September
12 hectares

Refuge zone

Stretches of land along the sides of the fields and ditches allocated as a refuge zone for wildlife.
3 hectares

 

OUR PHILOSOPHY…

The only beers in Belgium made from 100% local ingredientsfrom the ground to the glass…

+infos

Curious about brewing?

Come and visit us and taste a beer from the Green Country.

+ infos

WHERE CAN YOU FIND US?

Ferme Beauregard

La ferme familiale est située à Arc-Wattripont au coeur du pays des Collines où 5 générations se sont déjà succédées. Depuis 2005, nous plantons l'orge de brasserie nécessaire à la production de nos bières. C'est avec la connaissance intime de notre terre et son respect que nous cultivons notre orge.

L'orge d'hiver est semé fin septembre tandis que l'orge de printemps sera planté en mars. Les moissons se déroulent respectivement en juillet et en août, le grain est ensuite acheminé vers la malterie du château (Beloeil, Belgique) où l'orge sera germé puis séché selon nos prescriptions pour obtenir du malt. La Brasserie des Légendes maîtrise ainsi l'ensemble de la chaîne de production, le malt représentant la matière première la plus important en quantité pour la fabrication d'une bière. De la terre au verre......  UNIQUE EN BELGIQUE.

La rencontre de notre terroir et de notre savoir-faire brassicole conduit à des bières typiques de caractère. Depuis janvier 2012, Pierre Delcoigne a repris la gestion journalière de la ferme suite à la pension de ses parents.

  • La culture de l'orge

Nous plantons l'orge d'hiver fin septembre et la moisson se déroule au début du mois de juillet. Une superficie totale de 17 hectares est plantée, ce qui nous permet de récolter environ 130 tonnes d'orge qui seront ensuite malté à la Malterie du Château à Beloeil. Ce malt d'orge sera ensuite utiliser comme matière première principale dans la fabrication de nos bières. 

 

 

  • Le maltage

Le maltage est le procédé de transformation du grain d'orge qui permet à l'amidon présent à l'intérieur du grain de se transformer en sucres fermentescibles.

Le trempage

Le grain doit tout d'abord être humidifié. Cette étape se fait soit par trempage dans des bains d'eau soit par arrosage.

La germination

Lorsque le grain est correctement humidifié, la germination peut débuter. Lors de la germination, de la chaleur est dégagée. Il est donc nécessaire de contrôler la température.

Le touraillage

Pour freiner la germination, on sèche le malt, cela correspond à l'étape de touraillage. En fonction de la température de séchage, le malteur produira différents type de malt (malt pale, caramel, chocolat, torréfié, ...).

 

  • Les autres cultures
     

Froment

plantation: fin octobre/début novembre 
moisson: début août
17 hectares

Betteraves

plantation: mai 
récolte: octobre/novembre
4 hectares

Haricots/Légumineuses

plantation: mai 
récolte: septembre
12 hectares

Zone refuges
bandes aménagées le long des champs et des fossés comme zone refuge pour la faune.
3 hectares

 

Plus d’infos sur notre philosophie…

Les seules bières en Belgique 100% terroir, de la terre au verre…
 

+ d’infos

Curieux de découvrir
la brasserie ?

Venez nous rendre visite et  savourez une bière du Pays Vert.
 

+ d’infos

Où nous trouver ?